Student Scholar

The Student Scholar Award was established in 2006 by the Board of Governors of the SFPE Foundation to recognize students who are performing research to advance the science and practice of fire protection engineering. The Foundation’s Board of Governors makes the selection annually. Nominations are accepted from undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate students and are judged on scientific quality and relevance of their research to the fire protection engineering profession.

The recipient of this award receives a $1,000 honorarium from the SFPE Foundation.

2016 Recipients

Aoife Hunt, Ph.D.

Aoife Hunt is a mathematician and specialist in pedestrian and evacuation modelling. Using advanced modelling techniques and state-of-the-art micro-simulation tools, her work investigates the fire safety and pedestrian dynamics of buildings and urban spaces across the world. In January 2016 she completed her PhD in Computing and Mathematical Sciences at the University of Greenwich’s Fire Safety Engineering Group, one of the world’s most prominent centres for fire and evacuation simulation. Aoife’s thesis “Simulating Hospital Evacuation” focussed on the enhancement of egress strategies for critical multi-storey buildings such as hospitals, particularly for people with reduced mobility. A former Senior Lecturer in Mathematics at the University of Greenwich, she now works as a consultant and hospital evacuation specialist for AECOM, where she is also continuing her research into modelling pedestrian and evacuation dynamics.

Prior Recipients

  • Aoife Hunt, Ph.D., University of Greenwich for research on Simulating Hospital Evacuation (2016)
  • Karl Fridolf, Ph.D., Lund University for research on Rail Tunnel Evacuation (2015)
  • Alistair Bartlett, University of Edinburgh for research on Charring Rates for Cross Laminated Timber Under Standard and Non-Standard Heating Scenarios (2014)
  • Isaac Leventon, University of Maryland (2013)
  • Axel Jonsson, Lund University (2012)
  • Johan Andersson, Lund University (2012)
  • Kurt J. Schebel, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (2011)
  • James O’Neill, University of Canterbury (2010)
  • Rani A. Kady, Old Dominion University (2008)
  • Kevin LaMalva, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (2007)
  • Allan Jowsey, University of Edinburgh (2006)